Hanif Abdurraqib & Alexandra T. Vazquez

April 1, 2023

7:30 pm

Black Archives Historic Lyric Theater 819 NW 2nd Ave, Miami, FL 33136

Opening Night with Hanif Abdurraqib & Alexandra T. Vazquez
Presented in partnership with The Black Archives History & Research Foundation of South Florida, Inc

Celebrate the beginning of National Poetry Month with O, Miami. Spend an evening with poet Hanif Abdurraqib and writer Alexandra T. Vazquez as they discuss how music and other cultural activities forge a sense of place. Conversation moderated by P. Scott Cunningham. Activations, bar, and live DJ in the lobby before the event. Book signing courtesy of Books & Books.

Click here to view the full photo album

Hanif Abdurraqib Fest23

Hanif Abdurraqib is an award-winning poet, essayist, and cultural critic from Columbus, Ohio. His newest release, A Little Devil In America (Random House, 2021) was a winner of the Andrew Carnegie Medal and the Gordon Burn Prize. In 2021, Abdurraqib was named a MacArthur Fellow. He is a graduate of Beechcroft High School.

Alexandra Vazquezfest23

Alexandra T. Vazquez is Associate Professor of Performance Studies at New York University’s Tisch School of the Arts and the author of The Florida Room (Duke University Press), chosen by Pitchfork as one of the best music books of 2022. Her previous book, Listening in Detail: Performances of Cuban Music (Duke University Press 2013), won the American Studies Association’s Lora Romero Book Prize in 2014. Vazquez is a proud graduate of the New World School of the Arts high school in Miami, Florida.

P Scott Cunningham CL

P. Scott Cunningham is the founder and executive director of O, Miami and the author of Ya Te Veo (Arkansas UP, 2018), selected by former U.S. Poet Laureate Billy Collins as part of the Miller Williams Poetry Series. His poems, essays, and translations have appeared in The Nation, American Poetry Review, Gulf Coast, POETRY, A Public Space, Harvard Review, Monocle, and The Guardian, among others. He lives in Miami with his family.

Hanif Alex 1
Hanif Alex 5
Hanif Alex 4
Hanif Alex 6
Hanif Alex 2
Hanif Alex 3