Dayof Thrones Bay8
Thrones Two20


O, Miami is proud to recognize writers for their commitments to their communities. Below you'll find information about the various awards, fellowships, and laureateships that O, Miami produces alone, or with partners. Information about submission (if applicable) is linked below and also on our Submit page, whenever submissions are open.

Mia Willis9

Derricotte/Eady Prize

O, Miami is proud to collaborate with Cave Canem Foundation to produce the annual Derricotte/Eady Prize, developed in collaboration with The Writer’s Room at The Betsy-South Beach.

Established to celebrate Cave Canem’s 20th anniversary, the prize seeks to publish one outstanding chapbook manuscript by a Black poet per year, regardless of the poet’s publication history or career status.

For more information, visit Cave Canem

Current winner

Previous winners

Echo 1024x683

The Luis Hernandez Prison Poet Laureateship

The Luis Angel Hernandez Florida Prison Poet Laureate is an honorary position awarded by Exchange for Change and O, Miami. The laureateship designates one poet currently incarcerated in the state of Florida to serve a term of one or two years, with the mission of increasing visibility of Florida’s prison population; promoting rehabilitation through the arts; and asserting the basic humanity of all living beings. The contest is named in honor of Luis Angel Hernandez, an incarcerated poet who passed away from cancer in 2018. For more, visit Exchange for Change.

Current Laureate

  • Catherine LaFleur

Past Laureates

  • Christopher Malac
  • Eduardo "Echo" Martinez
Be In Miami1

Marjory Stoneman Douglas Poetry Award

O, Miami and The Marjory Stoneman Douglas Biscayne Nature Center are proud to present the annual Marjory Stoneman Douglas Poetry Award. Each April, during the O, Miami Poetry Festival, one South Florida poet is selected who represents qualities that reflect Marjory Stoneman Douglas and the legacy she left behind in South Florida.

What we look for in an awardee

  • Be an advocate for South Florida’s ecosystems
  • Be active and outspoken in addressing the challenges faced by our natural environment
  • Be a natural preservationist/conservationist
  • Be a writer or poet

Current Awardee

  • Yaddyra Peralta

Past Awardees

  • Houston Cypress
  • Cherry Pickman
  • Aja Monet
  • Jaswinder Bolina